Meridian Labs investor update — August 2026
Produced by: Run EXAMPLE-IU-01 · read-only · document and sheet on AES-1908 · nothing sent · demo values
- The headline
- Net new ARR was $118k against a plan of $140k, -15.7% against plan and the third month running below it [1]. Gross retention held at 97% [2]. Cash runway is 14 months at the current burn [3].
- What changed since last update
- | Metric | Last update | This update | Change | Source | |---|---|---|---|---| | ARR | $2.94M | $3.06M | +4.1% | AES-ART-311 | | Net new ARR | $131k | $118k | -9.9% | AES-ART-311 | | Gross retention | 97% | 97% | flat | AES-ART-311 | | Monthly burn | $196k | $204k | +4.1% | AES-ART-311 | | Paid seats | not reported | 1,184 | new | — | | NPS | 44 | not reported | dropped | AES-ART-311 | NPS is not in this update because the August survey closed on 3 September, after the period end, so no August response set exists [4].
- Metrics
- ````aestus-kpi id: kpi_0a1b2c3d4e5f --- - { id: tile_00000001, label: "ARR", value: "$3.06M", delta: "+4.1% MoM", trend: neutral, viz: count, samples: [], ratio: 0, metric: null } - { id: tile_00000002, label: "Net new ARR", value: "$118k", delta: "-9.9% MoM", trend: neutral, viz: count, samples: [], ratio: 0, metric: null } - { id: tile_00000003, label: "Monthly burn", value: "$204k", delta: "+4.1% MoM", trend: neutral, viz: count, samples: [], ratio: 0, metric: null } - { id: tile_00000009, label: "Runway", value: "14 months", delta: null, trend: neutral, viz: count, samples: [], ratio: 0, metric: null } ```` | Metric | Owner | This month | Prior month | MoM | 3-month avg | Plan | vs plan | Status | Source | | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | | ARR | Dana Okafor | $3.06M | $2.94M | +4.1% | $2.88M | $3.10M | -1.3% | on-track | [1] | | Net new ARR | Dana Okafor | $118k | $131k | -9.9% | $126k | $140k | -15.7% | off-track | [1] | | Gross retention | Priya Raman | 97% | 97% | flat | 97% | 96% | +1.0% | on-track | [2] | | Paid seats | Dana Okafor | 1,184 | not reported | not reported | not reported | 1,250 | -5.3% | at-risk | [5] | | Monthly burn | Sam Whitfield | $204k | $196k | +4.1% | $194k | $195k | +4.6% | at-risk | [3] | | NPS | Priya Raman | not reported | 44 | not reported | 43 | 45 | not reported | no-data | [4] | NPS is not reported this month: the August survey closed on 3 September, after the period end, so no August response set exists [4]. Paid seats has no prior month because the seat export was first connected on 12 August [5]. ````aestus-chart id: chart_a1b2c3d4e5f6 kind: line title: "Net new ARR against plan, trailing 6 months ($k)" categories: ["Mar","Apr","May","Jun","Jul","Aug"] --- - { id: series_11223344, name: "Actual", values: [104,112,129,118,131,118] } - { id: series_55667788, name: "Plan", values: [110,120,130,135,140,140] } ```` Net new ARR has been below plan every month since June and the gap is widening rather than closing [1].
- Goals
- - G-4 · Reach $3.5M ARR by Q4 — Dana Okafor — 61% — at-risk — last updated 2026-08-29 [1] - G-7 · Hold gross retention above 95% — Priya Raman — no target — on-track — last updated 2026-08-31 [2] - G-9 · Ship the self-serve plan — Ravi Menon — 40% — off-track — last updated 2026-07-24; no update in 40 days [7]
- Shipped
- - Self-serve checkout, behind a flag for 5% of signups — AES-1902 [7] - Single sign-on for enterprise workspaces — AES-1874 [7] - Usage-based billing for the growth plan — AES-1851 [7] - Audit export in the admin console — AES-1839 [7]
- Spend and runway
- Agent and model spend was $843 for August 2026 [6]. Cash on hand is $2.86M and monthly burn is $204k, both as entered by the finance owner on 2026-09-01 [3], which is 14 months of runway.
- Lowlights
- - Net new ARR is $118k against a plan of $140k, -15.7% below plan (off-track). Owner: Dana Okafor. [1] - Paid seats is 1,184 against a plan of 1,250, -5.3% below plan (at-risk). Owner: Dana Okafor. [5] - Monthly burn is $204k against a plan of $195k, +4.6% above plan (at-risk). Owner: Sam Whitfield. [3] - NPS is not reported this month: the August survey closed on 3 September, after the period end, so no August response set exists. Owner: Priya Raman. [4] - G-9 Ship the self-serve plan is off-track. Owner: Ravi Menon. [7] - G-9 Ship the self-serve plan has had no update in 40 days. Owner: Ravi Menon. [7]
- Asks
- 1. **Two introductions to Series B leads who back infrastructure at our stage.** Copy and paste: "Meridian Labs is at $3.06M ARR with 97% gross retention and is starting Series B conversations in October — can I introduce you to Dana?" — Dana Okafor takes the call [1][2]. (AES-1908) 2. **One reference call with a security-conscious buyer.** Copy and paste: "Would you spend twenty minutes with a prospective customer on how you reviewed our audit trail?" — Priya Raman sets it up. (AES-1909)
- Sources
- 1. Monthly revenue query and goal G-4 — warehouse · monthly_arr_v2 · observed 2026-09-01T06:04:00.000Z 2. Gross retention, goal G-7 — goal · G-7 · observed 2026-08-31T23:11:00.000Z 3. Cash on hand and monthly burn, entered by the finance owner — parameter · financeInputs · observed 2026-09-01T09:12:00.000Z 4. NPS survey export — document · Customer survey — July 2026 · observed 2026-08-01T00:00:00.000Z 5. Paid seat count — warehouse · paid_seats_v1 · observed 2026-09-01T05:40:00.000Z 6. Agent and model spend for August, from the run ledger — run · run ledger aggregate · observed 2026-09-01T06:06:00.000Z 7. Shipped work and goal updates for August — ticket · list_shipped_work · observed 2026-09-01T06:05:00.000Z